Statistical and Financial Trends

The region encompassed by the Diocese of Springfield provides the setting in which our story has developed since its early 19th century beginnings.  The Diocese includes 60 counties in the lower half of the State of Illinois.  It is bounded by the Illinois and Mississippi Rivers to the west; the Wabash River to the east; the Ohio River to the South; and Tazewell, McLean, Champaign, and Vermilion Counties to the north.

Although much of the region is rural, there are four major population centers including Springfield, Bloomington-Normal, Champaign-Urbana, and the Metro-East of St. Louis, Missouri.

The Diocesan administrative offices and the Cathedral Church of St. Paul are located in Springfield, which is also the seat of state government.  Springfield is perhaps most notably known for being the hometown of the 16th President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln.  Historic sites associated with Lincoln as well as the annual Illinois State Fair attract many visitors to capital city of Illinois.  The University of Illinois at Springfield is located on the city’s south side.

The largest population center in the northern part of the Diocese is Bloomington-Normal.  These twin cities are located at the crossroads of Illinois commerce with three major Interstate highways (I-55, I-39, and I-74).  Bloomington-Normal is known for the insurance industry (for example, State Farm), higher education (Illinois State University and Illinois Wesleyan University), healthcare, agribusiness, and industry.  The Bloomington-Normal community hosts the annual Shakespeare Festival every summer.

In the eastern part of the Diocese, the largest population center is Champaign-Urbana.  This community is perhaps best known for being the home of the University of Illinois, one of the premier public universities in the world.  The Krannert Center for the Performing Arts on the University of Illinois campus attracts world class performances throughout the year.  Champaign-Urbana hosts the annual Roger Ebert Film Festival at the historic Virginia Theater each April.

In the southern part of the state, the Metro-East of St. Louis is the largest population center and is comprised of two counties, St. Clair and Madison.  The Metro-East is the second largest population center in the entire state with over 500,000 residents.  Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville is located in this region.

Other noteworthy areas of population within the Diocese’s boundaries include the communities of Decatur (home to large agricultural processing plants such as ADM), Mattoon-Charleston (home to Eastern Illinois University), Effingham (the crossroads of Interstates 57 and 70 and the geographical center of the Diocese), Marion (home to Aisin, manufacturer of automobile parts), and Carbondale (home to Southern Illinois University).  Central and Southern Illinois are historically, culturally, and economically linked by agriculture, industry, transportation, and coal mining.  Central Illinois boasts some of the richest farmland in the entire world.  Southern Illinois is known for the 280,000-acre Shawnee National Forest.

2010-2019 Population Trends
2019 Average Sunday Attendance

Incorporated Eucharistic Community (IEC) = Parish

Eucharistic Community (EC) = Mission




Church Locator

US Census Quick Facts

TEC Explore Parochial Reports Trends 


ASA and Membership Statistics

All data from 2019 General Conventiona Parochial Reports



Financial Trends 2011-2020
Actual Income and Expenses to Budget

Listening Phase >>