Election Committee Announces Nominees

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

To:       The Faithful of the Diocese of Springfield

From:   The Election Committee for the Twelfth Bishop of Springfield, IL

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

The Election Committee is pleased to announce the Nominees for the Twelfth Bishop of the Diocese of Springfield.

Our Diocese uses a uniquely transparent process for electing a bishop.  There is no search committee that assembles a slate; instead, your delegates to our Nominating Synod, will choose the final three candidates from among this group of nominees who completed the application/nomination process and passed the required reference and background checks.

The nominees’ backgrounds were checked by the Oxford Document Management Company, Inc.  This consisted of a 15-year search of Criminal, Sex Offender, Credit Bureau (including spouse/partner), and Motor Vehicle Records databases.  In addition, Oxford verified education credentials and performed reference checks.  In addition, the Election Committee made more than ninety calls (90) to check references provided by the nominees.  Finally, each nominee was personally interviewed and responded to a series of questions (Behavior Survey Questionnaire – BSQ) that are, of necessity, intimate and confidential in nature.

With God’s help, yourClergy and Lay Delegates to the Nominating Synod, will narrow this field of nominees to three (3) final candidates on Saturday, October 16, 2021, at The Cathedral Church of St Paul the Apostle in Springfield, IL.

Before delving into the information provided on each nominee, The Election Committee encourages all delegates to dedicate time in prayer and meditation to discern what God is calling the Diocese of Springfield to be and do to further God’s kingdom of love and light within our churches, communities, and region.  The Diocesan Profile: An Invitation to Discernment – Diocese of Springfield is a great place to begin.

The Nominees for the Twelfth Bishop of Springfield are (alphabetical order):


The following information for each nominee is accessible online at the Bishop Election website:

  • Recent headshot photograph
  • Lay and Clergy Nominations
  • Pages 4-7 of the OTM profile (The eleven questions answered)
  • Copies (pdf or word files) or links to two recent sermons
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Short video (two to three minutes in length) addressing the following:

            After reviewing and reflecting on the information provided, why do you feel called to be a nominee for the 12th         Bishop of Springfield?


While the information was re-formatted for the web and the printable PDF, no attempt was made to correct typos, spelling, etc. Information was posted as provided by the nominee. There is a Nominees tab with a drop-down menu with each Nominee’s name.


If desired, an individual will be able to click on the printable pdf link to print or save the nominee’s PDF file.

It is our prayer that our next Bishop, under the influence and guidance of the Holy Spirit, will help us write the next chapter in the story of our Diocese.  With God’s help, the next chapter of our story will be greater than our past – for in Jesus the best is yet to be.

The Election Committee for the Twelfth Bishop of Springfield, IL


The Very Reverend Zachary Brooks, Trinity, Jacksonville, IL

Mary Ann Denney, St. Luke’s, Springfield, IL

Jan Goosens, St. Thomas’, Glen Carbon, IL

William Jackson, St. Luke’s, Springfield, IL

James Keith, St. John’s, Decatur, IL

Don Kensell, St. John the Baptist, Mt. Carmel, IL

Roy Laws, St. Matthew’s, Bloomington, IL

Rod Matthews, Chair, Christ the King, Normal, IL

Charles Rice, St. Paul’s, Carlinville, IL

Fredna Scroggins, St. Andrew’s, Edwardsville, IL

Norm Taylor, Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Springfield, IL

Bill Techau, Emmanuel Memorial, Champaign, IL

Kelley Wegeng, The Chapel of St. John the Divine, Champaign, IL

The Reverend David Wells, Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Springfield