A Message from the Transition Committee Chair

I would like to thank all persons whose efforts made the Consecration, and the related events, grand and glorious beyond all expectations.  I am confident that the proceedings were an appropriate initiation of an episcopate that will empower the Diocese to live ever more fully into the vision of our resurrected Savior.

I want to give particular thanks for the work of the members of the Transition Committee:

Kip Ashmore, retired Rector of Trinity Church, Jacksonville;
Len Harris, Church of the Redeemer, Cairo;
Erin McCrary, St. John’s Church, Centralia (and soon-to-be Executive Assistant to the Bishop); and
Claire Ribelin, Cathedral Church of St. Paul.

Each of these persons was diligent in his or her work; creative in his or her approach to the task; and proactive in anticipating and addressing potential issues. In thirty years of working on various diocesan committees, agencies, and boards, I have never worked with a group of people more competent, able, and committed than these four servants of Christ.

I would also like to thank those persons who, while not members of the Transition Committee, provided leadership that was indispensable to the Consecration weekend:

The Right Reverend Brian Burgess;
Denise Burgess;
Hannah Dallman, Diocesan Communications Coordinator;
The Reverend Canon Ron Clingenpeel, Transition Consultant:
Mark Dirksen, Emmanuel Memorial Church, Champaign (and Interim Diocesan Administrator);
Shawn Denney, Mary Denney, Ann Cornelius, Patricia Jackson, and all of the members of St. Luke’s and Christ Church who provided the breakfast for the Bishops on the morning of the Consecration;
The Reverend Mark Evans, Canon to the Ordinary;
Ben Hankinson, Chair of the Standing Committee;
Andy Hook, Cathedral Church of St. Paul
Connie Lynn, Cathedral Church of St. Paul;
Dale Rogers, Organist;
Joe Vitti, Church of Christ the King, Normal; and
the People of the Cathedral Church of St. Paul, for offering gracious hospitality during the first consecration to take place at the Cathedral in several decades.

And I thank all of the musicians, choristers, cantors, ushers, lectors, vergers, acolytes, deacons and subdeacons, altar guild members, and all other persons whose efforts contributed to the Consecration.

At the end of the service, I thought of the lyrics of Isaac Watts:  “We’re marching through Emmanuel’s ground/To fairer worlds on high.” Let it be so.

Kevin Babb, ChairEpiscopal Transition Committee (2021-2022)


LIVESTREAM recorded on May 21, 2022