Bishop Search Committees

The Election Committee

The Election Committee is responsible for developing a diocesan profile, nomination guidelines and form (including questions to be answered by prospective candidates), as well as for coordinating the visits (Walkabouts) of the final list of candidates who are nominated at the Nominating Synod.

The Rev. Zachary Brooks – Trinity, Jacksonville
Mary Ann Denney – St. Luke’s, Springfield
Jan Goossens – St. Thomas, Glen Carbon
William Jackson – St. Luke’s, Springfield
James Keith – St. John’s, Decatur
Don Kensell – St. John the Baptist, Mt. Carmel
Roy Laws – St. Matthew’s, Bloomington
Rod Matthews, chairChrist the King, Normal
Charles Rice – St. Paul’s, Carlinville
Fredna Scroggins – St. Andrews, Edwardsville
Norm Taylor – The Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Springfield
Bill Techau – Emmanuel, Champaign
Kelley Wegeng – St. John the Divine, Champaign
Fr. David Wells – The Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Springfield

The Standing Committee

The Election Committee works under the supervision of the Standing Committee, members of which are elected by lay and clergy delegates to Diocesan Synod.

The Rev. Beth Maynard, PresidentEmmanuel Memorial, Champaign
Kevin Babb – St Andrew’s, Edwardsville
The Rev.James Muriuki – Church of the Redeemer, Cairo
Gerry Smith – Christ the King, Normal
The Rev. Ben Hankinson, SecretarySt Andrew’s, Edwardsville
The Rev. Shawn Denney – St Luke’s, Springfield
Randy Winn – Trinity, Mt Vernon
Helen Williams – St Stephen’s, Harrisburg