An Invitation to Discernment

The Episcopal Diocese of Springfield invites qualified candidates to discern whether God may be calling them to serve the church of Jesus Christ as the 12th Bishop of Springfield.  The Diocese also invites its faithful members to dedicate time in prayer and meditation to discern what God is calling the Diocese of Springfield to be and do in order to further God’s kingdom of love and light within our churches, communities, and region.

It is particularly important for qualified nominees, as well as delegates and alternates elected to the nominating and electing synods, to engage in spiritual practices supportive of the discernment process.  This involves more than a perfunctory ticking of boxes to determine whether a nominee’s own beliefs, preferences, skills, and personal qualities align with the expectations of the Diocese.

The Bishop Election Committee, in consultation with the Standing Committee, presents this profile as raw data for potential nominees, delegates, alternates, and the faithful of the Diocese to “read, mark, learn, and inwardly digest.” It is the story of the Diocese thus far.  The story speaks to who we are, what we think, and what we have done.  Ultimately God provides the interpretation of and insight into our story.

Therefore, it is incumbent upon all concerned to approach the election of the 12th Bishop of Springfield with an attitude reflected in the words of Mother Teresa of Calcutta: “Come, Holy Spirit, guide me, protect me, and clear out my mind that I can pray.” With a prayerful heart, we can complete the election process and, as the Psalmist writes, “Be still and know that I am God.  I will be exalted among the nations; I will be exalted in the earth.”

It is our hope that our next Bishop, under the influence and guidance of the Holy Spirit, will help us write the next chapter in the story of our Diocese.  With God’s help, the next chapter of our story will be greater than our past – for in Jesus the best is yet to be.

The Election Committee for the 12th Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Springfield

The Very Reverend Sherry Black, Chair (March 2020 – May 2021), St. Mark’s, West Frankfort, IL
The Very Reverend Zachary Brooks, Trinity, Jacksonville, IL
Mary Ann Denney, St. Luke’s, Springfield, IL
Jan Goosens, St. Thomas’, Glen Carbon, IL
William Jackson, St. Luke’s, Springfield, IL
James Keith, St. John’s, Decatur, IL
Don Kensell, St. John the Baptist, Mt. Carmel, IL
Roy Laws, St. Matthew’s, Bloomington, IL
Rod Matthews, co-Chair (March 2020 – May 2021) Chair (June 2021 – present), Christ the King, Normal, IL
Charles Rice, St. Paul’s, Carlinville, IL
Fredna Scroggins, St. Andrew’s, Edwardsville, IL
Norm Taylor, Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Springfield, IL
Bill Techau, Emmanuel Memorial, Champaign, IL
Kelley Wegeng, The Chapel of St. John the Divine, Champaign, IL
The Reverend David Wells, Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Springfield


Click here for a printable pdf version of the Diocesan Profile


Our Unique Process >>